Steven J. Kaminshine Award for Excellence in Service

Steven J. Kaminshine Award for Excellence in Service

The College of Law has a tradition of substantial faculty involvement in service activities. Each spring, Georgia State Law will honor one full-time faculty member who, within the previous two calendar years, has compiled a substantial and continuing record of outstanding service. The award is given in honor of Steven J. Kaminshine, who faithfully served as dean from 2005 to 2017.

The award recipient receives $1,000, as well access to preferred parking in the V Lot (at his or her expense) for one year. Faculty members who have received the award in the last five years and those who hold administrative appointments at the associate dean level are not eligible. Nominations are due by Friday, March 31.

The Recipients

Service may include any of the following, though emphasis will be placed on the first three categories:

  1. College/University Service: serving in leadership positions on committees, participating in faculty governance, contributing to projects that help the college or university meet strategic goals;
  2. Service to Students: counseling and mentoring students, advising student organizations and other activities that contribute to improving the quality of students’ law school experience;
  3. Significant Project Development and Management: planning, leading and implementing projects or initiatives for the college or university that may require years of work; or
  4. Professional/Community Service: organizing major conferences, holding a major office in a professional organization, engaging in extraordinary pro bono legal advocacy or other pro bono contributions; or making other outstanding contributions to the local, state, national or international communities.

Faculty members may nominate a colleague or themselves by submitting a detailed description of the faculty member’s service contributions over the two-year period at issue. This should include a discussion of the nominee’s participation, leadership, time commitment, and accomplishments in the service tasks identified. In addition, a discussion of how the efforts of the nominee have contributed to the mission of the University and College of Law should be included.
The award committee, which will consist of the previous two winners of the award and the associate dean for academic affairs, will identify and recommend award recipients to the Dean. Until such time as there are two award winners, the committee shall be comprised of the associate dean for academic affairs and two faculty committee chairs appointed by the dean.