Annual IP Writing Competition

2016 IP Student Writing Competition Deadline is Monday, May 2
Submission Deadline is Monday, May 2

2016 Intellectual Property

Student Writing Competition

Georgia State Law is accepting submissions for its fourth annual Intellectual Property Student Writing Competition. Papers should address legal issues and challenges in the intellectual property field.


  •   First Place: $3,000
  •   Second Place: $2,000
  •   Third Place: $1,000

The winner will have the option to publish her or his article in the Georgia State University Law Review* and may present the article at the Corporate IP Institute (CIPI) meeting, an annual two-day event where about 200 IP professionals gather to discuss current issues, stories and strategies of corporations. Winning papers will also be published in the materials for the 2015 Corporate IP Institute.

*Subject to the discretion of the editors of the Georgia State University Law Review.

Eligibility Requirements

Individuals enrolled at an ABA-accredited law school are eligible to enter. Papers may not have more than one author (no co-authorship).

Submission Guidelines

Entries in Microsoft Word or Adobe Acrobat format should be emailed to no later than Monday, May 2.

Papers for the intellectual property writing competition must represent previously unpublished original works. Papers should be 30 to 50 double-spaced pages with footnotes. Each entry must include the name of the individual entrant’s law school, class/program in law school, and contact information (mailing address, telephone number and email address).


Winners will be determined at the sole discretion of Georgia State Law. All entrants will be notified of the competition results via email or by letter. Judging criteria include: originality of thought, contributions to the law and practice, completeness of scholarly research and the style and content of the work.

Publishing Rights

Authors will retain ownership of the copyright for all works submitted. However, authors receiving any award must first grant Corporate IP Institute a worldwide, royalty-free, nonexclusive license to publish the work or have the work published. All authors shall retain the right to publish or have published submitted articles.

For additional information and questions email

Past Winners

  • First Place: Brian J. Focarino from William & Mary Law School for his article, Patent Law’s Unexceptional Future
  • Second Place: James Hurt from the University of San Diego School of Law for his article, Reasonable Royalty for Patent Infringement of Non-Direct Revenue Producing Products
  • Third Place: Sari Sharoni from Stanford Law School for her article, Broadcast Television Competition After Aereo: The Anticompetitive Effect of Aereo’s Extension of Copyright Liability on Online Broadcast Programming Transmission

FAC_HeledYaniv_wCompetitionWinner2014 copy

  • First Place: Joseph Lingerfelter, of Boston University School of Law, receives his certificate and $3,000 from Yaniv Heled, assistant professor of law, at his presentation of the winning article, "Putting the 'Public' Back in 'Public Use:' Interpreting the 2011 Leahy-Smith America Invents Act," at the 2014 Corporate IP Institute on Oct. 27.
  • Second Place: Reid Dodge from Indiana University Law received $2,000 for his report on “Reasonable Royalty Patent Infringement Damages: A Proposal for More Predictable, Reliable and Reviewable Standards of Admissibility and Proof for Determining a Reasonable Royalty.”
  • Third Place: Shannon Flynn Smith from Michigan State University College of Law, wrote on “Virtual Cloning: Transformation or Imitation? Reforming the Transformative Use Test for Rights of Publicity” and received $1,000.


FAC_HeledYaniv_wCompetitionWinner2013 copy

  • First place: Daniel Dowling, the Thomas Jefferson School of Law, San Diego, for “'Covenant with Quality' as a Solution to the 'Naked Covenant' Proglem: How to Avoid Naked Licensing Forfeiture with Proferring a Covenant not to Sue."
  • Second place: John Eagen,  University of Miami Law School,  for "The Bacardi Bill."
  • Third place: Joe Grdinovac, University of Houston Law Center, for "The Impact of Community Property Laws on the Ownership and Transfer of Patents."
  • First place: Brittany Lee-Richardson, William and Mary Law School, for "Judgment for Federalism: A Case for Why the Right of Publicity Should be a Federal Right." 
  • Second place: Arpita Bhattacharyya, Ph.D., (2L), Northeastern University School of Law, for "Inequitable Conduct and Information Disclosure to the Patent Office: Business as Usual after Therasense and Supplemental Examination."
  • Third place: Michael Guo, University of California, Los Angeles School of Law, for "Patent Small Claims Court: Strengthening Patent Rights, Boosting Small Businesses, and Slaying Trolls."