IP writing competition

IP Writing Competition

Established in 2011, the Student Intellectual Property Writing Competition encourages students from any ABA-accredited law school program to write on any topic in intellectual property.

The top three papers receive cash prizes, with the top paper having the opportunity to be considered for publication in the Georgia State University Law Review.

  • First Place: $3,000
  • Second Place: $2,000
  • Third Place: $1,000

In addition, the top three papers are published in the materials distributed to Corporate Intellectual Property Institute participants. The first place winner receives an opportunity to present his or her paper at the Corporate Intellectual Property Institute.

The 2016 competition has closed. Information on the 2017 competition will be posted soon.

Questions? Contact iplaw@gsu.edu.

Past Winners

  • Brian Focarino

    Brian Focarino

    First Place: Brian J. Focarino from William & Mary Law School for his article, "Patent Law’s Unexceptional Future."

  • Second Place: James Hurt from the University of San Diego School of Law for his article, "Reasonable Royalty for Patent Infringement of Non-Direct Revenue Producing Products."
  • Third Place: Sari Sharoni from Stanford Law School for her article, "Broadcast Television Competition After Aereo: The Anticompetitive Effect of Aereo’s Extension of Copyright Liability on Online Broadcast Programming Transmission."

FAC_HeledYaniv_wCompetitionWinner2014 copy

  • First Place: Joseph Lingerfelter, of Boston University School of Law, receives his certificate and $3,000 from Yaniv Heled, assistant professor of law, at his presentation of the winning article, "Putting the 'Public' Back in 'Public Use:' Interpreting the 2011 Leahy-Smith America Invents Act," at the 2014 Corporate IP Institute on Oct. 27.
  • Second Place: Reid Dodge from Indiana University Law received $2,000 for his report on “Reasonable Royalty Patent Infringement Damages: A Proposal for More Predictable, Reliable and Reviewable Standards of Admissibility and Proof for Determining a Reasonable Royalty.”
  • Third Place: Shannon Flynn Smith from Michigan State University College of Law, wrote on “Virtual Cloning: Transformation or Imitation? Reforming the Transformative Use Test for Rights of Publicity” and received $1,000.


FAC_HeledYaniv_wCompetitionWinner2013 copy

    • First place: Daniel Dowling, the Thomas Jefferson School of Law, San Diego, for “'Covenant with Quality' as a Solution to the 'Naked Covenant' Proglem: How to Avoid Naked Licensing Forfeiture with Proferring a Covenant not to Sue."
    • Second place: John Eagen,  University of Miami Law School,  for "The Bacardi Bill."
    • Third place: Joe Grdinovac, University of Houston Law Center, for "The Impact of Community Property Laws on the Ownership and Transfer of Patents."

Brittany Lee-Richardson

First place winner Brittany Lee-Richardson (on right) is congratulated by Yaniv Heled, assistant professor of law (from left) and Michael Landau, professor of law.


  • First place: Brittany Lee-Richardson, William and Mary Law School, for "Judgment for Federalism: A Case for Why the Right of Publicity Should be a Federal Right." 
  • Second place: Arpita Bhattacharyya, Ph.D., (2L), Northeastern University School of Law, for "Inequitable Conduct and Information Disclosure to the Patent Office: Business as Usual after Therasense and Supplemental Examination."
  • Third place: Michael Guo, University of California, Los Angeles School of Law, for "Patent Small Claims Court: Strengthening Patent Rights, Boosting Small Businesses, and Slaying Trolls."