IP Legends and Community Service Awards

Intellectual Property Legends® Award

The Intellectual Property Legends® Award, presented every other year, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in the area of intellectual property in the business and legal arenas. Intellectual Property Legends® Award recipients are those who have been role models within the intellectual property community, have displayed the highest level of ethics in their careers, and have had a positive impact on their communities.

2015-IP-Awards-Luncheon-Invitation2015 IP Legends Luncheon

Noon to 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 20
Georgia State Law • 85 Park Place
Atlanta, GA 30303

Register for the Luncheon 

2015 IP Legends Award Recipients

  • Henry “Hank” Aaron, community leader and baseball legend
  • Michael Landau, Georgia State professor of law
  • William “Bill” Needle, partner at Ballard Spahr

Selection Criteria

  • An individual who has had a significant impact on the field of intellectual property, for example, as an inventor, attorney, entrepreneur, legislator, professor, judge, educator, intellectual property manager, executive and/or business owner.
  • An individual who has recently and/or continuously made outstanding accomplishments in the field of intellectual property.
  • An individual who has been a role model for his or her peers, subordinates and future members of the intellectual property community.
  • An individual who has displayed the highest level of ethics in his or her career.
  • An individual who has had a positive impact on his or her community.

Past Honorees

  • 2012: Joe Beck, partner, Kilpatrick, Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • 2012: Bill Curry, inaugural Georgia State University football coach
  • 2012: Dennis C. Liotta, professor, and Raymond F. Schinazi, professor, Emory University
  • 2012: L. Ray Patterson, professor, University of Georgia
  • 2009: Stanley F. Birch Jr., judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit
  • 2009: Ted Turner,  chair of Turner Enterprises Inc.
  • 2009: Anthony B. Askew, partner with King & Spalding LLP
  • 2007: Miles J. Alexander, partner at Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • 2007: S. Truett Cathy, founder and CEO of Chick-fil-A
  • 2007: Sandy Evans, former chief IP counsel for BellSouth


For information on how to submit nominations for the IP Legends Award or how to become a sponsor for the Intellectual Property Legends® Award Luncheon, email to iplaw@gsu.edu.

Community Service Awards

The IP Community Service Awards recognize intellectual property professionals who have made significant contributions to the community, specifically helping those in need.

Past honorees include:

  • William H. Brewster, partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • Michael D. Hobbs Jr., partner, Troutman Sanders LLP
  • Ann G. Fort, partner, Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP
  • Judy Jarecki-Black, global head of IP, Merial Ltd.
  • Frank A. Landgraff, senior IP counsel, GE Energy