Annual IP Writing Competition


2013-14 Intellectual Property

Student Writing Competition

Georgia State Law is accepting submissions for its third annual Intellectual Property Student Writing Competition. Papers should address legal issues and challenges in the intellectual property field.


  •   First Place: $3,000
  •   Second Place: $2,000
  •   Third Place: $1,000

Winning papers will be published in the conference materials for the 2014 Corporate IP Institute, an annual two-day event with about 200 IP professionals discussing intellectual property issues, stories and strategies of corporations at Georgia State College of Law. In addition, the first-place winner may present his or her paper at the conference.

Eligibility Requirements

Individuals enrolled at an ABA-accredited law school are eligible to enter. Papers may not have more than one author (no co-authorship).

Submission Guidelines

Entries in Microsoft Word or Adobe Acrobat format should be emailed to no later than Wednesday, April 30.

Papers for the intellectual property writing competition must represent original works not previously published or targeted for submission to another journal, law review or other periodical for publication until the winning papers are announced. Papers should be 30 to 50 double-spaced pages with footnotes. Each entry must include the name of the individual entrant’s law school, class/program in law school, and contact information (mailing address, telephone number and email address).


Winners will be determined at the sole discretion of Georgia State Law. All entrants will be notified of the competition results via email or by letter. Judging criteria include: originality of thought, contributions to the law and practice, completeness of scholarly research and the style and content of the work.

Publishing Rights

Authors will retain ownership of the copyright for all works submitted. However, authors receiving any award must first grant Corporate IP Institute a worldwide, royalty-free, nonexclusive license to publish the work or have the work published. All authors shall retain the right to publish or have published submitted articles.

For additional information and questions email

Past Winners

FAC_HeledYaniv_wCompetitionWinner2013 copy

  • First place: Daniel Dowling, the Thomas Jefferson School of Law, San Diego, for “Covenant with Quality.”
  • Second place: John Eagen,  University of Miami Law School,  for “The Bacardi Bill.”
  • Third place: Joe Grdinovac, University of Houston Law Center, for “The Impact of Community Property Laws on the Ownership and Transfer of Patents.”
  • First place: Brittany Lee-Richardson, William and Mary Law School, for “Judgment for Federalism: A Case for Why the Right of Publicity Should be a Federal Right.” 
  • Second place: Arpita Bhattacharyya, Ph.D., (2L), Northeastern University School of Law, for ”Inequitable Conduct and Information Disclosure to the Patent Office: Business as Usual after Therasense and Supplemental Examination.”
  • Third place: Michael Guo, University of California, Los Angeles School of Law, for ”Patent Small Claims Court: Strengthening Patent Rights, Boosting Small Businesses, and Slaying Trolls.”
    Daily Report Releases Online 2014 Georgia Legal Almanac | Daily Report via @GeorgiaStateLaw 50 minutes ago