College Honors December 2012 Graduates

Georgia State University College of Law honored 16 of its 18 December graduates at a holiday luncheon on Dec. 13 at the Commerce Club.

“Graduating in December rather than May means you’re different in some way,” said Kelly Cahill Timmons, associate dean for student affairs, during her remarks at the luncheon. “Although those ways vary: some of you were part-time students all through law school, some started part time but ended full time. Some started full time but ended part time. One or two of you even managed to graduate in two and half years.”

This was the fifth year for the luncheon, which was organized by the Office of Development to celebrate the December graduates before they start studying for the February bar exam.

“I greatly enjoyed the luncheon,” Sarah Lathrop (J.D. ’12) says. “It was really great to be able to sit down and enjoy lunch and fellowship with many of my favorite professors and those who have greatly impacted me throughout my time here. It was really special to be able to enjoy that time with them and reflect on my time here at Georgia State.”

This year, December graduates were asked to invite their favorite professor or the one who had the most impact on them during law school.

“I truly feel that Georgia State Law has an amazing sense of community, and I think that it can be attributed to Dean Sobelson’s example and spirit,” Lathrop says. “He truly cares about the school and its students.”

Students invited professors Andrea Curcio, Jack Williams, Neil Kinkopf, Sylvia Caley, Paul Milich, Michael Landau, Yaniv Heled, Natsu Saito and Corneill Stephens, as well as associate deans Roy Sobelson, Wendy Hensel and Timmons.

The December graduates include: Nanda Berry (J.D. ’12), Will Bracker (J.D. ’12), Chris Carsten (J.D. ’12), John Chescavage (J.D. ’12), Joel Cohen (J.D. ’12), John Dinatale (J.D. ’12), Chuck Eaton (J.D. ’12), David Freda (J.D. ’12), Vishak Ganesh (J.D. ’12), Marc Hood (J.D. ’12), Joy Jenrette (J.D. ’12), Crystal Parker (J.D. ’12), Robert Steele (J.D. ’12), Jamie Stone (J.D. ’12), Helen Suh (J.D. ’12), Brian Thomas (J.D. ’12) and Greg Waldrop (J.D. ’12).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email